MENTIONS

MENTIONS AWARDED DURING THE ANNUAL EVENT 1001 VISAGES

AWARDS FOR THE ARTISTS

Each year, the edition of the 1001 Visages event gives rise to the award of several prizes to highlight the excellence of the work of the artists to whom they are handed.

affichelapalme1001visages
Robert LaPalme
(illustration of Yves Demers)
— The PRIX ROBERT-LaPALME, the most prestigious and named in honor of the Québec cartoonist Robert LaPalme, has been awarded since 2006 during the event 1001 Visages By the trustee of the Fondation Robert-LaPalme, Mister Jean-Pierre Pilon. It consists of an original artwork by this great Montréal cartoonist which is offered to the recipient artist to emphasize the quality of the whole of his artwork ;

— The PRIX JEAN-GUY LEMAY, named in honor of the comic book author and cartoonist Jean-Guy Lemay FR, creator of the comic strip Bojoual, is awarded since 2014 during the event 1001 Visages by a jury of specialists. It consists of an original work by this Québec artist which is offered to the recipient artist to highlight the quality of the whole of his work in comics ;

— The GUEST OF HONOR, Is an outstanding artist in his career and which deserves a place of choice in the exhibition : he is featured with a significant number of exhibited artworks ;

— The Jury Awards, category “Faces and Characters” and category “Humor”, are given to the artists distinguished by the quality of their artworks exhibited during the event, noticed by the members of the jury ;
— The Audience Awards, category “Faces and Characters” and category “Humor”, are given to artists distinguished by the popularity of their artworks exhibited during the event to the public, asked to vote for the best artworks.

 

AWARDS 2015

Note: The Prix Robert-LaPalme is not awarded this year.

 

Jacques Goldstyn
Self-caricature of Jacques Goldstyn.

PRIX JEAN-GUY LEMAY: JACQUES GOLDSTYN

Internationally renowned Québec illustrator and cartoonist, Jacques Goldstyn became known mainly through his works devoted to scientific communication. On an international level, note that, since 2001, Goldstyn publishes his comics series Les Débrouillards in Hong Kong, translated into Mandarin in the journal White Antelope. Finally, note that Jacques Goldstyn and his collaborator Félix Maltais are recipients of the Prix Michael-Smith Which pays tribute to groups that have made outstanding contributions to the promotion of science in Canada.

Additional information:
FACEBOOK FR ;
BIBLIOGRAPHY BÉDÉTHÈQUE FR ;
JACQUES GOLDSTYN (artist’s blog) FR.

 

caricatureAislin_fleg
Aislin presenting a sculpture of himself
made by Fleg.

GUEST OF HONOR: AISLIN (TERRY MOSHER)

Terry Mosher, better known under his nom de plume Aislin, is a monument of the caricature sphere in Canada. He caricatures Québec’s and Canada’s politicians since 1972 in the daily newspaper The Montreal Gazette. Terry graduated from the École des Beaux-Arts in 1967. He has published more than 40 books in his domain and he has always been an active developer for the caricature, nationally and internationally . In 2015, Aislin received, along with Serge Chapleau, the Prix Hyman Solomon, in recognition for his excellent political reporting work. Over the years, he was the recipient of several other prizes such as the National Newspaper Awards, many prizes at the Salon de la caricature, induction into the Canadian News Hall of Fame and many other awards.

Additional information:
BIOGRAPHY WIKIPEDIA EN ;
AISLIN CANADIAN CARTOONIST (artist’s website) EN.

 

AWARDS 2014

Note: The Prix Robert-LaPalme is not awarded this year.

 

mariomalouinprix
Mario Malouin
caricaturist
comic artist
(photo Luc Vidal – detail)

PRIX JEAN-GUY LEMAY: MARIO MALOUIN

The very first Prix Jean-Guy Lemay rewards the artwork of our Special Guest Mario Malouin, caricaturist and comic book author for the Québec magazine Délire. Veteran of comic pages and cartoons in Québec, he began in the years 1970 and was one of the founders of the magazine Safarir in 1987, as well as one of its main pillars for twenty years. Mario Malouin has published several comics albums and compilations of cartoons. He has already earned several Prix including the Prix Bédéis Causae of the Festival de la BD francophone de Québec in 1988 for his entire career as well as the Prix du Journal de Québec for the cartoons album Le Monde du spectacle in 1994. Mario is a regular contributor to the magazine Délire since ten years.

Additional information:
BIOGRAPHY WIKIPÉDIA FR ;
BIBLIOGRAPHY BÉDÉTHÈQUE FR.

 

marcbeaudetprix
Marc Beaudet
editorial caricaturist
comic artist
(photo Mathieu Manikowski – detail)

— GUEST OF HONOR: MARC BEAUDET

Caricaturist for the Journal de Montréal since 2002, Marc Beaudet Is recognized by his peers as an exceptionally gifted artist. Well-established professional, recipient of various Prix, including the prestigious World Press Cartoon in 2008, he is the second person to have won this prize in Canada. Member of the ACDE (Association canadienne des dessinateurs éditoriaux), He already has to his credit numerous collections of his annual caricatures as well as albums of comics.

Additional information:
CARICATURES LE JOURNAL DE MONTRÉAL FR ;
BIOGRAPHY WIKIPÉDIA FR ;
BIBLIOGRAPHY BÉDÉTHÈQUE FR ;
BEAUDETOON (artist’s website) FR ;
@BEAUDETOON (artist’s twitter) FR.

 

AWARDS 2013

 

garnotteprix
Garnotte
(Michel Garneau)
editorial caricaturist
comic artist
(photo Mathieu Manikowski – detail)

PRIX ROBERT-LaPALME: GARNOTTE (MICHEL GARNEAU)

The recipient of the Prix Robert-LaPalme, Garnotte, real name Michel Garneau, is the editorial caricaturist of the daily Montréal newspaper Le Devoir since april 1996.
Born in Montréal in 1951 and after studying geography, Garnotte, contributed as illustrator, caricaturist and comic artist, To several newspapers or magazines as well as CROC, TV Hebdo, Protégez-vous, Titanic (for which he was also editor-in-chief), Les Débrouillards, La Terre de chez nous, Nouvelles CSN and Relations.

Additional information:
CARICATURES LE DEVOIR FR ;
BIOGRAPHY WIKIPÉDIA FR ;
BIBLIOGRAPHY BÉDÉTHÈQUE FR.

 

Fleg (Christian Daigle) (photo Mathieu Manikowski - détail)
Fleg
(Christian Daigle)
editorial caricaturist
(photo Mathieu Manikowski – detail)

— GUEST OF HONOR: FLEG (CHRISTIAN DAIGLE)

The Guest of honor, Fleg, real name Christian Daigle, was the regular editorial caricaturist for the website Yahoo! Québec from 2010 to 2015. He also worked for the Québec city daily newspaper Le Soleil from 2002 to 2011. Fleg is born in Lévis in 1963. Caricaturist, he is also a graphic designer, illustrator and sculptor. In 1979, he was the recipient of the Prix J.W. Bengough as welle as the Prix Albéric Bourgeois en 1980. His interest in caricature began at the beginning of the years 1980 With his meeting with Robert LaPalme.

Additional information:
BIOGRAPHY WIKIPÉDIA FR ;
FLEG (artist’s website) FR ;
FLEG ARTFOX (artist’s website) FR ;
@FLEGCARTOON (artist’s twitter) FR.

 

AWARDS 2012

Note: The Prix Robert-LaPalme is not awarded this year.

 

Ferg Gadzala (photo Mathieu Manikowski - détail)
Ferg Gadzala
live caricaturist
editorial caricaturist
(photo Mathieu Manikowski – detail)

— GUEST OF HONOR: FERG GADZALA

Besides doing caricatures live for corporate events, our Guest of Honor, Ferg Gadzalawas editorial cartoonist at The Westmount Examiner for over 20 years, during which time he received the Premier Award in 1999 for best cartoon from the Canadian Community Newspapers Association, and also the First Prize of Best Humorous Drawing in 2000 and 2001 from the Association of Regional Newspapers of Quebec. His work has has appeared in several films, including a cult classic, the Alan Rudolph film The Moderns. In 2011 he placed second in the Best caricature, party style organized by ISCA (International Society of Caricature Artists) in the USA.

Additional information:
BIOGRAPHY 1001 VISAGES FR ;
CARICATURES FERG (artist’s website) EN/FR.

 

AWARDS 2011

Note: The Prix Robert-LaPalme is not awarded this year.

 

Didier Loubat (photo Mathieu Manikowski - détail)
Didier Loubat
live caricaturist
(photo Mathieu Manikowski – detail)

— GUEST OF HONOR: DIDIER LOUBAT

Our Guest of honor this year, Didier Loubat Is recognized for his great cartoonist talents by his peers as well as by a clientele of renowned artists on the international level. The excellent resemblance of his models, his inventive compositions and his undeniable artistic talent have made him a prestigious guest at the event. He exposes his artworks at the café Le Mouton Noir during the 2011 edition and realizes some caricatures in trio with Yves Demers and Patrick Dea which will remain a highlight of the meetings of cartoonists (see the MOVIE of one of their performances).

Additional information:
DIDIER LOUBAT’S PORTFOLIO (artist’s website).

 

AWARDS 2010

Note: None of awards in 2009.

 

Oleg Dergachov (photo Benoît Bourbeau - détail)
Oleg Dergachov
humor cartoonist
(photo Benoît Bourbeau – detail)

PRIX ROBERT-LaPALME: OLEG DERGACHOV

In 2010, the Prix Robert-LaPalme was allocated to Oleg Dergachov, resident of Montréal since six years. Traveling all over the world, he is known notably by his important international career in the field of humor drawing.
He also produces bronzes, engravings, lithographs, installations and mastered a whole range of artistic techniques that make him an accomplished artist.

Additional information:
BIOGRAPHY CARTOON GALLERY ;
PORTFOLIO BEST CARTOONS ;
DO SUDIO (artist’s website).

 

 Métyvié (Serge Métivier) (photo Martine Mongrain - détail)
Métyvié
(Serge Métivier)
live caricaturist
editorial caricaturist
(photo Martine Mongrain – detail)

— GUEST OF HONOR: MÉTYVIÉ (SERGE MÉTIVIER)

Our Guest of honor, Serge Métivier, well known as his nom de plume Métyvié, is a veteran in the world of caricature in Québec since the early 1980s. He knows all aspects of the caricaturist’s profession.
Having been the star of the TV show Fais-moi un dessin, his professionalism and his naturalness on a stage are no longer to be demonstrated. Since 2007, he participates in all editions of 1001 Visages.

Additional information:
BIOGRAPHY 1001 VISAGES FR ;
BIOGRAPHY WIKIPÉDIA FR ;
MÉTYVIÉ LE CARICATURISTE (artist’s website) FR.

 

AWARDS 2008

 

André Pijet (photo Martine Mongrain - détail)
André Pijet
live caricaturist
illustrator
(photo Martine Mongrain – detail)

PRIX ROBERT-LaPALME: ANDRÉ PIJET

The Prix Robert-LaPalme was awarded to André Pijet this year. This cartoonist of Polish origin, established for a very long time in Québec, Is very active on the international scene. He has been the recipient of many Prix throughout his career. Thanks to its numerous contacts, he was the main instigator within the 1001 Visages of a section of humor drawings from all over the world.

Additional information:
BIOGRAPHY 1001 VISAGES FR ;
BIOGRAPHY WIKIPÉDIA FR ;
BIBLIOGRAPHY BÉDÉTHÈQUE FR ;
CARICATURE ANDRÉ PIJET (artist’s website) EN.

 

Jean-Guy Moreau (photo Martine Mongrain - détail)
Jean-Guy Moreau
impersonator
humor cartoonist
(photo Martine Mongrain – detail)

— GUEST OF HONOR: JEAN-GUY MOREAU

Few people know that the Guest of honor, Jean-Guy Moreau, well known in Québec as an imitator humorist, Is also a cartoonist at his hours. 1001 Visages invited him to exhibit his recent artworks for his annual exhibition. An amateur of comic strips, in particular of the series Philémon of the French comics author Fred, Jean-Guy Moreau was even committed himself in 1977 to script and draw a short comic strip published in the Québec comics magazine Baloune. In 2004, he published a collection of drawings entitled À tort et à travers on texts of Pierre Létourneau at the publisher Lanctôt éditeur.

Additional information:
BIOGRAPHY 1001 VISAGES FR ;
BIOGRAPHY WIKIPÉDIA FR ;
BIOGRAPHY RADIO-CANADA FR.

 

Audience Awards, category “Faces and Characters”: DOMINIC PHILIBERT
Audience Awards, category “Humor”: DOMINIC PHILIBERT
Jury Awards, category “Faces and Characters”: DENIS JACQUES
Jury Awards, category “Humor”: SIMON DUPUIS

 

AWARDS 2007

 

Bado (Guy Badeaux)
Bado
(Guy Badeaux)
editorial caricaturist
comic artist

PRIX ROBERT-LaPALME: BADO (GUY BADEAUX)

The Prix Robert-LaPalme was awarded to Bado, real name Guy Badeaux, in 2007. This editorial caricaturist of the Ottawa daily newspaper Le Droit has always been involved in the world of humor drawing. He is the publisher of the annual review Portfoolio which collects the best editorial caricatures published in Canada each year. Bado Is also a great traveler who regularly attends humor drawings events in various countries. His knowledge and his passion for the world of caricature make him a must in this field in Québec.

Additional information:
CARICATURES LE DROIT FR ;
BIOGRAPHY WIKIPÉDIA FR ;
BIBLIOGRAPHY BÉDÉTHÈQUE FR ;
BADO, LE BLOG (artist’s blog) FR ;
@GUYBADEAUX (artist’s twitter) FR.

 

Yves Demers (photo Martine Mongrain - détail)
Yves Demers
live caricaturist
illustrator
(photo Martine Mongrain – detail)

— GUEST OF HONOR: YVES DEMERS

A Montrealer by birth, Yves Demers quickly distinguished himself with a manual dexterity not commonly found. He very quickly became expert in different expressions of art, including drawing, sculpture, advertising illustration, cartooning, conception and realization of decors, and computer graphics. After over ten years doing corporate and editorial caricatures, he joined the creative team at Studio Artefact where he conceived and built Christmas decors for major shopping centers worldwide, from Florida to Hawaii. The art of caricature, however, continuously resurfaces in his life, justified by his pleasure of working with the public: “Drawing a face is akin to telling a story, and, for me, every face in the world is a beautiful story waiting to be told.

Additional information:
BIOGRAPHY 1001 VISAGES FR ;
CARICATURE YVES DEMERS (artist’s website) FR.

 

Jury Awards, category “International Humor”: ROGER PENWILL (England)
Jury Awards, category “International Caricature”: MOINE (France)
Audience Awards, category “Faces and Characters”: MARTINE CYR
Audience Awards, category “Humor”: PAVEL CONSTANTIN

 

AWARDS 2006

 

Jean-Guy Lemay (photo Robert Lafontaine - détail)
Jean-Guy Lemay
comic artist
sculptor
(photo Robert Lafontaine – detail)

PRIX ROBERT-LaPALME: JEAN-GUY LEMAY

For the very first year of its release, the Prix Robert-LaPalme was allocated to Jean-Guy Lemay (better known under the pseudonym J. Guilemay), a caricaturist and sculptor from Sainte-Agathe, creator of the comic strip Bojoual le huron-kébékois which has been a real popular success in the years 1970. J. Guilemay has produced a whole collection of humorous sculptures, which are simply beautiful, representing Québec personalities.

Additional information:
BIOGRAPHY 1001 VISAGES FR ;
BIOGRAPHY WIKIPÉDIA FR ;
BIBLIOGRAPHY BÉDÉTHÈQUE FR ;
BOJOUAL LE HURON-KÉBÉKOIS FR.

 

Yayo (Diego Herrera) (photo Martine Mongrain - détail)
Yayo
(Diego Herrera)
humor cartoonist
(photo Martine Mongrain – detail)

— GUEST OF HONOR: YAYO (DIEGO HERRERA)

The first Guest of honor of 1001 Visages, Yayo, real name Diego Herrera, is known both as a cartoonist and illustrator for youth. Residing in Montreal, he works for publishers from Canada and United States including, among others, L’Actualité, Châtelaine, Le Devoir, Reader’s Digest, The Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, The Boston Globe, Cartoonists & Writers Syndicate, Dominique et compagnie, Raton Laveur, Héritage, Les 400 Coups, Hurtubise HMH, Lobster Press, Tradewind Books et Holiday House. Yayo is trained in Advertising Design and Fine Arts. Several awards mark his career, of which, just recently in 2014, a Prix d’excellence at the XIVth International Editorial Cartoon Competition held by the Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom.

Additional information:
BIOGRAPHY 1001 VISAGES FR ;
BIOGRAPHY COMMUNICATION JEUNESSE FR ;
LE MONDE DE YAYO 2009 FR.

 

Honourary plaque, International artist : OLEG DERGACHOV
Honourary plaque, Best work created for the event : JAYD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PRIX DÉCERNÉS LORS DE L’ÉVÈNEMENT ANNUEL 1001 VISAGES

DES DISTINCTIONS POUR LES ARTISTES

Chaque année, l’édition de l’événement 1001 Visages donne lieu à la remise de plusieurs prix visant à souligner l’excellence du travail des artistes auxquels ils sont remis.

affichelapalme1001visages

Robert LaPalme
(illustration de Yves Demers)

— Le PRIX ROBERT-LaPALME, le plus prestigieux et nommé en l’honneur du caricaturiste québécois Robert LaPalme, est attribué depuis 2006 pendant l’évènement 1001 Visages par le fiduciaire de la Fondation Robert-LaPalme, Monsieur Jean-Pierre Pilon. Il consiste en une oeuvre originale de ce grand caricaturiste montréalais qui est offerte à l’artiste récipiendaire pour souligner la qualité de l’ensemble de son œuvre.

— Le PRIX JEAN-GUY LEMAY, nommé en l’honneur de l’auteur de bandes dessinées et caricaturiste Jean-Guy Lemay, créateur de la bande dessinée Bojoual, est attribué depuis 2014 pendant l’évènement 1001 Visages par un jury de spécialistes. Il consiste en une oeuvre originale de ce dessinateur québécois qui est offerte à l’artiste récipiendaire pour souligner la qualité de l’ensemble de son œuvre en bande dessinée ;

— L’INVITÉ D’HONNEUR, est un artiste s’étant illustré de manière exceptionnelle au cours de sa carrière et qui se mérite une place de choix dans l’exposition : il est mis en vedette avec un nombre important d’oeuvres exposées ;

— Les Prix du jury, volet « Visages et personnages » et volet « Humour », sont donnés aux artistes se distinguant par la qualité de leurs œuvres exposées pendant l’événement, remarquées par les membres du jury ;
— Les Prix du public, volet « Visages et personnages » et volet « Humour », sont remis aux artistes se distinguant par la popularité de leurs œuvres exposées pendant l’événement auprès du public, appelé à voter pour les meilleurs travaux.

 

DISTINCTIONS 2015

Note : Le Prix Robert-LaPalme n’est pas attribué cette année.

 

Jacques Goldstyn

Auto-caricature de Jacques Goldstyn.

PRIX JEAN-GUY LEMAY : JACQUES GOLDSTYN

Dessinateur et bédéiste québécois de réputation internationale, Jacques Goldstyn s’est fait connaître principalement par ses œuvres consacrées à la communication scientifique. Sur le plan international, notons que, depuis 2001, Goldstyn fait paraître sa série Les Débrouillards à Hong Kong, celle-ci traduite en mandarin dans la revue White Antelope. Enfin, notons également que Jacques Goldstyn et son collaborateur Félix Maltais sont récipiendaires du Prix Michael-Smith qui rend hommage aux groupes ayant apporté une contribution exceptionnelle à la promotion des sciences au Canada.

Information additionnelle :
FACEBOOK FR ;
BIBLIOGRAPHIE BÉDÉTHÈQUE FR ;
JACQUES GOLDSTYN (blogue de l’artiste) FR.

 

caricatureAislin_fleg

Aislin présentant une sculpture
réalisée par Fleg.

INVITÉ D’HONNEUR : AISLIN (TERRY MOSHER)

Terry Mosher, plus connu sous son nom de plume Aislin, est un monument du domaine de la caricature au Canada. Il caricature les politiciens québécois et canadiens depuis un si grand nombre d’année dans le quotidien The Montreal Gazette, qu’il est un incontournable de la scène culturelle au Québec. Terry a fait sa formation à l’école des Beaux-Arts. Il est l’auteur de plus de 40 livres dans son domaine et il a toujours été actif pour la promotion de la caricature, tant à l’échelle nationale qu’internationale.En 2015, Aislin a reçu, en même temps que Serge Chapleau, le Prix Hyman Solomon, en guise de reconnaissance pour son excellent travail de journaliste politique. Au fil des ans, il s’est également mérité quantité d’autres Prix dont : Concours canadien de journalisme, plusieurs Prix au Salon de la caricature, intronisation au Canadian News Hall of Fame ainsi que plusieurs autres honneurs.

Information additionnelle :
BIOGRAPHIE WIKIPÉDIA FR ;
AISLIN CANADIAN CARTOONIST (site de l’artiste) EN.

 

DISTINCTIONS 2014

Note : Le Prix Robert-LaPalme n’est pas attribué cette année.

 

mariomalouinprix

Mario Malouin
caricaturiste
auteur de bande dessinée
(photo Luc Vidal – détail)

PRIX JEAN-GUY LEMAY : MARIO MALOUIN

La toute première remise du Prix Jean-Guy Lemay récompense le travail de notre Invité spécial Mario Malouin, caricaturiste et auteur de bandes dessinées à la revue Délire. Vétéran de la bande dessinée et de la caricature au Québec, il a débuté dans les années 1970 et a été l’un des fondateurs de la revue Safarir en 1987, ainsi que l’un de ses principaux piliers pendant vingt ans. Mario Malouin a publié plusieurs albums et recueils de dessins humoristiques. Il s’est déjà mérité plusieurs Prix dont le Prix Bédéis Causae du Festival de la BD francophone de Québec en 1988 pour l’ensemble de sa carrière ainsi que le Prix du Journal de Québec pour l’album Le Monde du spectacle en 1994. Mario est un collaborateur régulier du magazine Délire depuis dix ans.

Information additionnelle :
BIOGRAPHIE WIKIPÉDIA ;
BIBLIOGRAPHIE BÉDÉTHÈQUE.

 

marcbeaudetprix

Marc Beaudet
caricaturiste éditorial
auteur de bande dessinée
(photo Mathieu Manikowski – détail)

INVITÉ D’HONNEUR : MARC BEAUDET

Caricaturiste au Journal de Montréal depuis 2002, Marc Beaudet est reconnu par ses pairs comme un artiste exceptionnellement doué. Professionnel bien établi, récipiendaire de divers Prix, dont celui du prestigieux World Press Cartoon en 2008, il est la deuxième personne ayant gagné ce prix au Canada. Membre de l’ACDE (Association canadienne des dessinateurs éditoriaux), il a déjà à son actif de nombreux recueils de ses caricatures annuelles ainsi que des albums de bandes dessinées.

Information additionnelle :
CARICATURES LE JOURNAL DE MONTRÉAL ;
BIOGRAPHIE WIKIPÉDIA ;
BIBLIOGRAPHIE BÉDÉTHÈQUE ;
BEAUDETOON (site de l’artiste) ;
@BEAUDETOON (twitter de l’artiste).

 

DISTINCTIONS 2013

 

garnotteprix

Garnotte
(Michel Garneau)
caricaturiste éditorial
auteur de bande dessinée
(photo Mathieu Manikowski – détail)

PRIX ROBERT-LaPALME : GARNOTTE (MICHEL GARNEAU)

Le récipiendaire du Prix Robert-LaPalme, Garnotte, de son vrai nom Michel Garneau, est le caricaturiste attitré du quotidien montréalais Le Devoir depuis avril 1996.
Né à Montréal en 1951 et après des études en géographie, Garnotte, a contribué comme illustrateur, caricaturiste ou bédéiste, à plusieurs journaux ou revues dont CROC, TV Hebdo, Protégez-vous, Titanic (pour lequel il était aussi rédacteur en chef), Les Débrouillards, La Terre de chez nous, Nouvelles CSN et Relations.

Information additionnelle :
CARICATURES LE DEVOIR ;
BIOGRAPHIE WIKIPÉDIA ;
BIBLIOGRAPHIE BÉDÉTHÈQUE.

 

Fleg (Christian Daigle) (photo Mathieu Manikowski - détail)

Fleg
(Christian Daigle)
caricaturiste éditorial
(photo Mathieu Manikowski – détail)

INVITÉ D’HONNEUR : FLEG (CHRISTIAN DAIGLE)

L’Invité d’honneur, Fleg, de son vrai nom Christian Daigle, a été le caricaturiste régulier pour le site Yahoo! Québec de 2010 à 2015. Il a aussi travaillé pour le quotidien Le Soleil de la ville de Québec de 2002 à 2011. Fleg est né à Lévis en 1963. Caricaturiste, il est aussi graphiste, illustrateur et sculpteur. En 1979, il a été récipiendaire du Prix J.W. Bengough ainsi que du Prix Albéric Bourgeois en 1980. Son intérêt pour la caricature a débuté au début des années ’80 avec sa rencontre avec Robert LaPalme.

Information additionnelle :
BIOGRAPHIE WIKIPÉDIA ;
FLEG (site de l’artiste) ;
FLEG ARTFOX (site de l’artiste) ;
@FLEGCARTOON (twitter de l’artiste).

 

DISTINCTIONS 2012

Note : Le Prix Robert-LaPalme n’est pas attribué cette année.

 

Ferg Gadzala (photo Mathieu Manikowski - détail)

Ferg Gadzala
caricaturiste en direct
caricaturiste éditorial
(photo Mathieu Manikowski – détail)

INVITÉ D’HONNEUR : FERG GADZALA

Notre Invité d’honneur, Ferg Gadzala a déjà été caricaturiste régulier pour le Westmount Examiner pendant plus de vingt ans. En 1999, l’Assocation des journaux régionaux du Canada lui décerne un Prix d’excellence pour le Meilleur dessin humoristique.
Il a aussi obtenu le Premier Prix deux années de suite, soit en 2000 et 2001, de l’Assocation des journaux régionaux du Québec. En 2011, Ferg termine second au Concours « Best caricature, party style » organisé par l’ISCA (International Society of Caricature Artists) aux États-Unis.

Information additionnelle :
BIOGRAPHIE 1001 VISAGES ;
CARICATURES FERG (site de l’artiste).

 

DISTINCTIONS 2011

Note : Le Prix Robert-LaPalme n’est pas attribué cette année.

 

Didier Loubat (photo Mathieu Manikowski - détail)

Didier Loubat
caricaturiste en direct
(photo Mathieu Manikowski – détail)

INVITÉ D’HONNEUR : DIDIER LOUBAT

Notre Invité d’honneur cette année, Didier Loubat est reconnu pour ses grands talents de caricaturiste par ses pairs ainsi que par une clientèle d’artistes de renom sur la scène internationale. L’excellente ressemblance de ses modèles, ses compositions inventives et son indéniable talent artistique en ont fait un invité de prestige à l’événement. Il expose ses œuvres au café Le Mouton Noir lors de l’édition 2011 et réalise quelques caricatures en trio avec Yves Demers et Patrick Dea lui resteront un moment fort des rencontres de dessinateurs (voir le FILM VIDÉO d’une de leurs prestations). Il participe souvent aux 1001 Visages.

Information additionnelle :
DIDIER LOUBAT’S PORTFOLIO (site de l’artiste).

 

DISTINCTIONS 2010

Note : Aucune de remise de prix en 2009.

 

Oleg Dergachov (photo Benoît Bourbeau - détail)

Oleg Dergachov
dessinateur d’humour
(photo Benoît Bourbeau – détail)

PRIX ROBERT- LaPALME : OLEG DERGACHOV

En 2010, le Prix Robert-LaPalme a été attribué à Oleg Dergachov, résident de la ville de Montréal depuis six ans. Voyageant sans cesse aux quatre coins du monde, il s’illustre notamment par sa carrière internationale importante dans le domaine du dessin d’humour.
Il réalise également des bronzes, des gravures, des lithographies, des installations et maîtrise toute une panoplie de techniques artistiques qui font de lui un artiste accompli.

Information additionnelle :
BIOGRAPHIE CARTOON GALLERY ;
PORTFOLIO BEST CARTOONS ;
DO SUDIO (site de l’artiste).

 

 Métyvié (Serge Métivier) (photo Martine Mongrain - détail)

Métyvié
(Serge Métivier)
caricaturiste en direct
caricaturiste éditorial
(photo Martine Mongrain – détail)

INVITÉ D’HONNEUR : MÉTYVIÉ (SERGE MÉTIVIER)

Notre Invité d’honneur, Serge Métivier, très connu sous le nom de plume Métyvié, est un vieux routier du monde de la caricature au Québec depuis le début des années 1980. Il connaît tous les aspects du métier de caricaturiste.
Ayant été la vedette de l’émission télévisée Fais-moi un dessin, son professionnalisme et son naturel sur une scène ne sont plus à démontrer. Depuis 2007, il participe à toutes les éditions de 1001 Visages.

Information additionnelle :
BIOGRAPHIE 1001 VISAGES ;
BIOGRAPHIE WIKIPÉDIA ;
MÉTYVIÉ LE CARICATURISTE (site de l’artiste).

 

DISTINCTIONS 2008

 

André Pijet (photo Martine Mongrain - détail)

André Pijet
caricaturiste en direct
illustrateur
(photo Martine Mongrain – détail)

PRIX ROBERT-LaPALME : ANDRÉ PIJET

Le Prix Robert-LaPalme a été remis à André Pijet cette année. Ce caricaturiste d’origine polonaise, établi depuis fort longtemps au Québec, est très actif sur la scène internationale. Il a été récipiendaire de nombreux Prix au long de sa carrière. Fort de ses nombreux contacts, il a d’ailleurs été l’instigateur principal au sein des 1001 Visages d’un volet de dessins d’humour provenant des quatre coins du monde.

Information additionnelle :
BIOGRAPHIE 1001 VISAGES ;
BIOGRAPHIE WIKIPÉDIA ;
BIBLIOGRAPHIE BÉDÉTHÈQUE ;
CARICATURE ANDRÉ PIJET (site de l’artiste).

 

Jean-Guy Moreau (photo Martine Mongrain - détail)

Jean-Guy Moreau
imitateur
dessinateur d’humour
(photo Martine Mongrain – détail)

INVITÉ D’HONNEUR : JEAN-GUY MOREAU

Peu de gens savent que l’Invité d’honneur, Jean-Guy Moreau, bien connu au Québec comme humoriste imitateur, est aussi dessinateur à ses heures. 1001 Visages l’a invité à exposer ses œuvres récentes pour son exposition annuelle. Amateur de bandes dessinées depuis toujours, en particulier de la série Philémon de l’auteur Fred, Jean-Guy Moreau s’est même commis en 1977 à scénariser et dessiner une courte bande dessinée publiée dans le magazine québécois Baloune. Il publie en 2004 un recueil de dessins intitulé À tort et à travers sur des textes de Pierre Létourneau chez Lanctôt éditeur.

Information additionnelle :
BIOGRAPHIE 1001 VISAGES ;
BIOGRAPHIE WIKIPÉDIA ;
BIOGRAPHIE RADIO-CANADA.

 

Prix du public, volet « Visages et personnages » : DOMINIC PHILIBERT
Prix du public, volet « Humour » : DOMINIC PHILIBERT
Prix du jury, volet « Visages et personnages » : DENIS JACQUES
Prix du jury, volet « Humour » : SIMON DUPUIS

 

DISTINCTIONS 2007

 

Bado (Guy Badeaux)

Bado
(Guy Badeaux)caricaturiste éditorial
auteur de bande dessinée

PRIX ROBERT-LaPALME : BADO (GUY BADEAUX)

Le Prix Robert-LaPalme a été remis à Bado, de son vrai nom Guy Badeaux, en 2007. Ce caricaturiste du journal quotidien Le Droit d’Ottawa a toujours été impliqué dans le monde du dessin d’humour. Il est notamment éditeur de la revue annuelle Portfoolio qui publie les meilleures caricatures éditoriales publiées au Canada chaque année. Bado est également un grand voyageur qui assiste régulièrement à des événements de dessins d’humour dans divers pays. Sa connaissance et sa passion du monde de la caricature en font un incontournable dans ce monde particulier au Québec.

Information additionnelle :
CARICATURES LE DROIT ;
BIOGRAPHIE WIKIPÉDIA ;
BIBLIOGRAPHIE BÉDÉTHÈQUE ;
BADO, LE BLOG (blogue de l’artiste) ;
@GUYBADEAUX (twitter de l’artiste).

 

Yves Demers (photo Martine Mongrain - détail)

Yves Demers
caricaturiste en direct
illustrateur
(photo Martine Mongrain – détail)

INVITÉ D’HONNEUR : YVES DEMERS

Montréalais d’origine, Yves Demers s’est très vite démarqué par une dextérité manuelle hors du commun. Une fois devenu artiste, il eut tôt fait de s’avérer un expert dans les différentes branches du domaine de la créativité : dessin, sculpture, illustration publicitaire, bd, conception de décors, idéation et infographie. Après avoir passé une dizaine d’années à faire des caricatures corporatives et éditoriales, il rejoint le Studio Artefact où il participe comme concepteur et réalisateur de décors de Noël pour des centres commerciaux situés à travers le monde. La caricature refait toujours surface dans sa vie, justifiée entre autre par son plaisir de travailler avec le public : « Dessiner un visage, c’est comme raconter une histoire et tous les visages du monde sont pour moi des plaisirs à raconter. »

Information additionnelle :
BIOGRAPHIE 1001 VISAGES ;
CARICATURE YVES DEMERS (site de l’artiste).

 

Prix du jury, volet « Humour international » : ROGER PENWILL (Angleterre)
Prix du jury, volet « Caricature internationale » : MOINE (France)
Prix du public, volet « Visages et personnages » : MARTINE CYR
Prix du public, volet « Humour » : PAVEL CONSTANTIN

 

DISTINCTIONS 2006

 

Jean-Guy Lemay (photo Robert Lafontaine - détail)

Jean-Guy Lemay
auteur de bande dessinée
sculpteur
(photo Robert Lafontaine – détail)

PRIX ROBERT-LaPALME : JEAN-GUY LEMAY

Pour la toute première année de sa remise, le Prix Robert-LaPalme a été attribué à Jean-Guy Lemay (plus connu sous le pseudonyme J. Guilemay), un caricaturiste et sculpteur de Sainte-Agathe, créateur de la bande dessinée Bojoual le huron-kébékois qui a connu un réel succès populaire dans les années 1970. J. Guilemay a réalisé toute une collection de sculptures humoristiques (représentant des personnalités québécoises) qui sont tout simplement magnifiques.

Information additionnelle :
BIOGRAPHIE 1001 VISAGES ;
BIOGRAPHIE WIKIPÉDIA ;
BIBLIOGRAPHIE BÉDÉTHÈQUE ;
BOJOUAL LE HURON-KÉBÉKOIS.

 

Yayo (Diego Herrera) (photo Martine Mongrain - détail)

Yayo
(Diego Herrera)
dessinateur d’humour
(photo Martine Mongrain – détail)

INVITÉ D’HONNEUR : YAYO (DIEGO HERRERA)

Le premier Invité d’honneur, Yayo, de son vrai nom Diego Herrera, est connu à la fois comme dessinateur humoristique et illustrateur pour la jeunesse. Résidant à Montréal, il travaille pour des éditeurs et des publications du Canada et des États-Unis dont, entre autres, L’Actualité, Châtelaine, Le Devoir, Reader’s Digest, The Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, The Boston Globe, Cartoonists & Writers Syndicate, Dominique et compagnie, Raton Laveur, Héritage, Les 400 Coups, Hurtubise HHMH, Lobster Press, Tradewind Books et Holiday House. Yayo a une formation en Dessin publicitaire et aux Beaux-Arts. Plusieurs Prix jalonnent sa carrière dont, tout récemment en 2014, un Prix d’excellence au 14e Concours de dessins éditoriaux du Comité canadien de la liberté de la presse mondiale (CCLPM).

Information additionnelle :
BIOGRAPHIE 1001 VISAGES ;
BIOGRAPHIE COMMUNICATION JEUNESSE ;
LE MONDE DE YAYO 2009.

 

Plaque honorifique, Artiste international : OLEG DERGACHOV
Plaque honorifique, Meilleure oeuvre créée pour l’événement : JAYD